Twenty-fifth Conference on the
Mathematical Foundations of
Programming Semantics
University of Oxford
Oxford, UK
April 3 - 7, 2009
Partially Supported by the
US Office of Naval Research
In commemoration of the founding of denotational semantics in the work of Dana Scott and Christopher Strachey, the Twenty-fifth Conference on the Mathematical Foundations of Programming Semantics will take place at the Oxford University Computing Laboratory, Oxford,     UK from April 3 - 7, 2009. MFPS conferences are devoted to those areas of mathematics, logic, and computer science that are related to models of computation, in general, and to the semantics of programming languages, in particular. The series has particularly stressed providing a forum where researchers in mathematics and computer science can meet and exchange ideas about problems of common interest. As the series also strives to maintain breadth in its scope, the conference strongly encourages participation by researchers in neighboring areas.
Neil Ghani
Marta Kwiatkowska
Catherine Meadows
Naval Research Laboratory
Michael Mislove
Dana Scott
David Schmidt
Kansas State
In addition, there will be four special sessions:
    •    A Special Session honoring Bob Tennent on the occasion of his 65th birthday year, led off by David Schmidt’s plenary lecture. The session is being organized by Dan Ghica (Birmingham) and Peter O’Hearn (QMW), and the speakers include John Reynolds (CMU), Claudio Hermida, Gordon Plotkin (Edinburgh), Peter O’Hearn (QMW, London) and Dan Ghica (Birmingham).
    •    A Special Session on Security will be held in conjunction with Catherine Meadows’ plenary talk. It is being organized by Catherine Meadows and A. W. Roscoe (Oxford). It includes talks by Samson Abramsky (Oxford), Andrew Ker (Oxford), Catuscia Palamidessi (Ecole Polytechnique) and A. W. Roscoe.
    •    A Special Session honoring Michael Mislove on the occasion of his 65th birthday year, led off by Dana Scott’s plenary lecture. This session is being organized by  Samson Abramsky (Oxford), Achim Jung (Birmingham) and Steve Brookes (CMU). It includes talks by Jimmie Lawson (LSU), Keye Martin (NRL), Dusko Pavlovic (Kestrel and Oxford) and James Worrell (Oxford).
    •    A Special Session on Mathematically Structured Programming in conjunction with Neil Ghani’s plenary talk. The speakers include Ana Bove (Chalmers), Patricia Johann (Strathclyde), Dirk Pattinson (Imperial) and John Longley (Edinburgh).  
Also, there will be a series of Tutorial Lectures on Quantum Information and Quantum Computing. These will be given at the beginning of each day of the meeting. The lectures are being organized by Samson Abramsky (Oxford) and Bob Coecke (Oxford). The speakers include Ross Duncan (Oxford), Keye Martin (NRL), Prakash Panangaden (McGill) Simon Perdrix (Oxford) and Peter Selinger (Dalhousie). These lectures are meant to provide the background necessary to prepare participants for QPL IV, the fourth Workshop on Quantum Physics and Logic, which will take place in Oxford immediately following MFPS.
The remainder of the program will consist of papers selected by the Program Committee in response to this Call. The Committee is members are
    Andrej Bauer,  University of Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Stephen Brookes, CMU, USA
    Kostas Chatzikokolakis, TUE, The Netherlands
    Yuxin Deng, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
    Derek Dreyer, MPI-SWS, Germany
    Daniele Gorla, Sapienza Università di Roma, Italy
    Jean Goubault-Larrecq, ENS Cachan, France
    Joshua Guttman, MITRE, USA
    Matthew Hennessy, TCD, Ireland
    Achim Jung, University of Birmingham, UK
    Jean Krivine, Edinburgh and Harvard Medical School, USA
    Pasquale Malacaria, Queen Mary University of London,  UK
    Keye Martin NRL, USA
    Catherine Meadows, NRL, USA
    Mike Mislove, Tulane University, USA
    MohammadReza Mousavi, TUE, The Netherlands
    Joël Ouaknine, Oxford, UK
    Catuscia Palamidessi, INRIA, France  (chair)
    Prakash Panangaden, McGill University, Canada
    Peter Selinger, Dalhousie University, Canada
    Daniele Varacca, Université Paris Diderot, France
The Organizers of the MFPS series are Stephen Brookes (CMU), Achim Jung (Birmingham), Catherine Meadows (NRL), Michael Mislove (Tulane) and Prakash Panangaden (McGill). The local arrangements for MFPS 25 are being overseen by Samson Abramsky (Oxford).